Free Nonprofit Tax Help for Greater Houston.

You may know you can claim your children on your tax return. A qualifying child can be a son, daughter, niece, nephew, brother, sister, or grandchild. But how exactly does this help you, and when can you NOT claim your children? Children on a tax return offer the following tax benefits:

  • Personal Exemption: For every child, and adult, on your tax return, IRS takes off a certain amount of taxable income, reducing the taxes you owe before any credits (“tax liability”).
  • Child Tax Credit: This credit takes $1,000 off your tax liability for every child under 17. If your child turned 17 in 2010, you no longer get this credit, though you can still claim your child and get the personal exemption.
  • Earned Income Credit (EIC): If your child is under 19, or under 24 and a full time student, and you meet certain income guidelines, you can receive EIC for them. EIC is refundable, meaning that even if you owe no taxes you can get this credit as a refund.

Q: My child had an after school job. Can I still claim him/her?

A: Yes. If your child is under 19, or under 24 and a full time student, you may claim them no matter how much they earn.

 

Q: My child is 25 but only worked a little last year and lives with me. Can I claim him/her?

A: If your adult child earned under $3,650, they are considered a “qualifying relative” and you may get a personal exemption for them. But, you cannot receive Child Tax Credit or Earned Income Credit.*

 

Q: My 20-year-old son worked but only earned $6,000. He doesn’t go to school and I support him. Can I claim him?

A. No. Since he earned more than $3,650, is over 19, and is not a full time student, you cannot claim him.

 

*To get EIC, your child can be any age if they are totally and permanently disabled.

Comments on: "Can I Claim My Kid?" (1)

  1. […] Should you claim your children? […]

Leave a comment